Guillermo Rigondeaux remained undefeated after getting a controversial knockout ruling victory from the officials of the bout.
Rigodeaux (18-0, 11 KO’s) landed a punch after the bell was sounded to end the first round, which knocked Flores (25-1, 17 KO’s) out of his consciousness for few seconds.
Referee Vic Draculich not able to make a quick decision as when the punch actually landed. The sequence of the knockout has been replayed few times. It was clear that Rigo’s punch landed after the bell based on the replay. But it took the officials of the bout to come with a decision. What added to the confusion was Rigondeaux holding the back of the head of Flores during exchanges. But Rigo was no longer holding at the back of Flores’ head when the brutal punch landed.
Finally, the official decision was announced by Michael Buffer. It was ruled out that the punch was legal resulting to a knockout. Hence, Rigo remained a world champion with a KO victory over Flores.
Below is the KO clip.
Have your opinion in the comment section.